Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

The Province of Saskatchewan: Introductory Note

Philip Raworth
Edited By: Philip Raworth

© 2016 Oxford University Press
The Province of Saskatchewan lies in the Canadian West. It is bordered on the west by the Province of Alberta, on the north by the Northwest Territories, on the east by the Province of Manitoba and on the south by the U.S. States of Montana and North Dakota. Saskatchewan covers an area of 651,900 square kilometers (228,450 square meters). According to a 2013 estimate, it has a population of 1,114,170. The capital is Regina. In 1670, King Charles II of England (and Scotland) granted to his nephew, Prince Rupert, and some of his friends, a large territory in North...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.