Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

The State of Jammu and Kashmir: Introductory Note

Philip Raworth
Edited By: Philip Raworth

© 2016 Oxford University Press
The State of Jammu and Kashmir is situated in northern India. It is bordered on the south by the Indian States of Himachal Pradesh and Punjab, on the north and east by China and on the west and northwest by the Line of Control that separates it from Pakistan-controlled Kashmir. It covers an area of 222,236 square kilometers (85,806 square miles) and, as of 2011, had a population of 12,541,302. It is the only state in India with a Muslim-majority population. It has two capitals: Jammu from October to March and Srinagar from March to October. While India is a...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.