Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

Northern Ireland: Introductory Note

Philip Raworth
Edited By: Philip Raworth

© 2018 Oxford University Press

From: Oxford Constitutions (http://oxcon.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2015. All Rights Reserved.date: 20 March 2019

Northern Ireland lies in the northeastern part of Ireland. It is bordered on the south and west by the Irish Republic, on the north by the Atlantic Ocean and on the east by the Irish Sea and the North Channel. It comprises the six counties of Antrim, Armagh, Londonderry, Down, Fermanagh and Tyrone—with an area of 14,130 square kilometers (5,456 square miles). It has a population, according to a 2016 estimate, of 1,864,863, which is more or less equally divided between Protestants and Catholics with 17% declaring to have no religion. Non-Christian religions make up...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.