Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

Part IV Separation of Powers, Ch.16 Legislature: composition, qualifications, and disqualifications

MR Madhavan

From: The Oxford Handbook of the Indian Constitution

Edited By: Sujit Choudhry, Madhav Khosla, Pratap Bhanu Mehta

From: Oxford Constitutions (http://oxcon.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2023. All Rights Reserved.date: 28 February 2024

This chapter discusses the composition of Parliament and the State legislatures in India. It examines the qualifications and disqualifications applicable for membership to the legislative branch of government. India is a federal state, with a parliamentary form of government comprised of legislatures at the Union and State levels. The Indian Parliament consists of two Houses: the Rajya Sabha (the Council of States) and the Lok Sabha (the House of the People). The Rajya Sabha is an indirectly elected House whose members represent various States and Union Territories, whereas members of the Lok Sabha are directly elected from territorial constituencies. This chapter first considers some of the issues relating to the composition of the Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha before explaining the qualifications and disqualifications of members of both Houses. In doing so, it provides an account of Articles 79 to 104 (Parliament) and Articles 168 to 193 (State legislatures) of the Indian Constitution.

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.