Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

Part Two The Alaska Constitution and Commentary, Art.XV Schedule of Transitional Measures

From: The Alaska State Constitution

Gerald A. McBeath

From: Oxford Constitutions (http://oxcon.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2023. All Rights Reserved.date: 01 February 2023

Article XV originally contained 25 sections, which were designed to provide an orderly transition from territorial rule to state government. Three sections were added in 1982 to implement the appropriation limit (Article IX, section 16). The only controversial section of the article is section 20, on the location of the state capital in Juneau. Initially, it was proposed to make the section part of the constitution itself. After discussion, the delegates agreed to include it in the schedule appended to the constitution. When asked whether the capital could be...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.