Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

Part One The History of the South Dakota Constitution

From: The South Dakota State Constitution

Patrick M. Garry

From: Oxford Constitutions (http://oxcon.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2023. All Rights Reserved.date: 30 September 2023

On March 2, 1861, President James Buchanan signed the bill that created the Dakota Territory.1 Within this territory were included the present states of North and South Dakota, Montana, and Wyoming. President Abraham Lincoln then appointed William Jayne of Illinois as the first governor of the territory. The first territorial legislature convened on March 17, 1862 in Yankton, chosen as the first territorial capital over Sioux Falls, an older town, and Vermilion, the largest town in Dakota.2 The territorial bill had been preceded by a convention held in Sioux Falls...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.