Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

Ashmore and Cartier Islands Territory: Introductory Note

Philip Raworth
Edited By: Philip Raworth

© 2003 Oxford University Press

From: Oxford Constitutions (http://oxcon.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2023. All Rights Reserved.date: 24 May 2024

The Ashmore and Cartier Islands Territory of the Commonwealth of Australia is located in the Indian Ocean approximately 300 miles north of the Western Australian town of Broome. It is uninhabited. The Territory consists of the Ashmore Islands, three coral islets which are enclosed by a reef and Cartier Island, which is also contained within a reef. Since 1962 an unmanned Australian meteorological station has been operating on West Ashmore Island. The original move for Australian control to be exercised over these islands came from the State of Western Australia....
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.