Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

State of South Australia: Introductory Note

Philip Raworth
Edited By: Philip Raworth

© 2019 Oxford University Press

From: Oxford Constitutions (http://oxcon.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved.date: 14 June 2021

The State of South Australia lies in the mid-south of Australia. It shares borders with all the other mainland states: Western Australia on the west, New South Wales on the east, Victoria on the south-east and Queensland on the north-east. On the north it is bordered by the Northern Territory, and on the south by the Great Australian Bight. It covers area of 984,000 square kilometers (380,069 square miles) and, as of 2017, it had a population of 1,726,900. The capital is Adelaide, so named in honor of Queen Adelaide, the wife of King William IV (1830-1837). Like...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.