Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

The Kingdom of Morocco: Introductory Note

Yousra Abourabi
Edited By: Institute for International and Comparative Law in Africa

© 2019 Oxford University Press

From: Oxford Constitutions (http://oxcon.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2015. All Rights Reserved.date: 04 August 2020

Since its independence in 1956, Morocco has had six constitutions, promulgated in 1962, 1970, 1972, 1992, 1996, and 2011. It also has seen constitutional amendments and revisions, in 1972, 1992 and 1996, which accompanied political and social change. Even though Morocco evolved progressively from an authoritarian to a more democratic state, its constitutional history has not always been of a progressive nature. To the contrary, it has experienced some regressions and contradictions, due to the style of the monarch in power, on the one hand, and the domestic and...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.