Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

The State of Falcón: Introductory Note

Philip Raworth
Edited By: Philip Raworth

© 2019 Oxford Univeristy Press

From: Oxford Constitutions (http://oxcon.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved.date: 26 February 2021

The State of Falcón lies in the northeast of Venezuela. It is bordered on the north and east by the Caribbean Sea, on the south by the States of Lara and Yaracuy and on the west by the State of Zulia and the Gulf of Venezuela. It has an area of 24,800 square kilometers (9,600 square miles) and, in 2011, had a population of 902,847. The capital is Santa Ana de Coro. The area comprising the State of Falcón was first explored by the Spanish in 1499 but colonization did not start until later in the 16th century. In 1811 when Venezuela declared its independence from...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.