Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

The Province of Santa Cruz: Introductory Note

Philip Raworth
Edited By: Philip Raworth

© 2020 Oxford University Press

From: Oxford Constitutions (http://oxcon.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved.date: 05 August 2021

The Province of Santa Cruz is located in the south of Argentina in Patagonia. It is bordered on the north by the Province of Chubut, on the west and south by Chile and on the east by the Atlantic Ocean. It covers an area of 243,943 square kilometers (94,187 square miles) and, as of 2011, had a population of 273,964. Despite its small population, Santa Cruz has the highest per capital income of Argentina. The capital is Río Gallegos. The area has the distinction of being visited by both Ferdinand Magellan and Francis Drake in the 16th century before coming under...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.