Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

The Jubaland State of Somalia: Introductory Note

Philip Raworth
Edited By: Philip Raworth

© 2020 Oxford University Press

From: Oxford Constitutions (http://oxcon.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2015. All Rights Reserved.date: 30 October 2020

Jubaland is one of the five States of Somalia. It is situated in the extreme south of the country. It is bordered on the west and southwest by Kenya, on the east and southeast by the Indian Ocean, on the northwest by Ethiopia and on the northeast by the South West State of Somalia. It covers an area of 110,293 square kilometers (42.584 square miles) and in 2005 had a population of 953,045. The capital is Bu’ale. During the Middle Ages, the region was controlled by the Somali Ajuran Empire and later it came under the Geledi Sultanate. In 1895, it became part of the...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.