Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

The State of Salzburg: Introductory Note

Philip Raworth
Edited By: Philip Raworth

© 2020 Oxford University Press

From: Oxford Constitutions (http://oxcon.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved.date: 27 January 2021

Salzburg is both well-known as the city where Mozart was born and is the name of one of the nine Federal states of the Republic of Austria. Its name is derived from the salt deposits in the Salzburg Alps. It is bordered on the north and east by Upper Austria, on the east also by Styria, on the south by Carinthia and Tyrol and on the west by Tyrol and the German State of Bavaria. It has a surface area of 7,154 square kilometers (2,762 square miles), making it the sixth in size of the Austrian Federal states. The population is around 530,000, making it seventh among...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.