Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

The Territory of French Polynesia: Introductory Note

Philip Raworth
Edited By: Philip Raworth

© Oxford University Press

From: Oxford Constitutions (http://oxcon.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved.date: 25 June 2021

French Polynesia is composed of 118 geographically dispersed islands and atolls, namely the Windward Islands, the Leeward Islands, the Tuamotu Islands, the Gambier Islands, the Marquesas Islands and the Austral Islands as well their adjacent maritime areas. The Windward and Leeward Islands are also known collectively as the Society Islands1 and contain the famous island of Tahiti. The islands of French Polynesia are scattered over 2,500,000 square kilometers (965,255 square miles) of the Pacific Ocean and have a total land area of 4,167 square kilometers (1,622...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.