Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

Part Two The South Carolina Constitution and Commentary, Art.III Legislative Department

From: The South Carolina State Constitution

Cole Blease Graham

From: Oxford Constitutions (http://oxcon.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved.date: 08 May 2021

The legislative power of this State shall be vested in two distinct branches, the one to be styled the “Senate” and the other the “House of Representatives,” and both together the “General Assembly of the State of South Carolina.” Article II of the 1868 constitution dealt with the legislative branch. This section directly restates the constitution of 1868, Article II, section 1. It establishes a bicameral, or two-house, form for the legislature and vests legislative power in the two houses. A similar provision found in the constitution of 1790 is perhaps more...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.