Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

Part Two The Maryland Constitution and Commentary, Art.VII Sundry Officers

From: The Maryland State Constitution

Dan Friedman

From: Oxford Constitutions (http://oxcon.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved.date: 23 June 2021

Historically, Article VII has contained the constitutional rules concerning a variety of disparate constitutional offices including the levy courts, county commissioners, commissioners of public works, surveyors, the state librarian, commissioners of the land office, and the “wreck-master” for Worcester County. Over time, most of these offices have been abolished and the constitution was amended in 1977 to reflect these changes.1 Today, only the constitutional provisions regarding county commissioners remain in Article VII. The County Commissioners of each county...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.