Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

Part Two The Maryland Constitution and Commentary, Art.III Legislative Department

From: The Maryland State Constitution

Dan Friedman

From: Oxford Constitutions (http://oxcon.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved.date: 18 June 2021

The Legislature shall consist of two distinct branches; a Senate, and a House of Delegates, and shall be styled the General Assembly of Maryland. The current version of this provision is nearly identical to the first article in the Maryland Constitution of 1776 with only minor stylistic updates. This provision creates a bicameral legislature composed of two houses—the upper house, which is known as the Senate, and the lower house, which is called the House of Delegates—together known as the General Assembly of Maryland. This provision does not describe the powers...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.