Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

Part two The Rhode Island Constitution and Commentary, Art.V Of the Distribution of Powers

From: The Rhode Island State Constitution

Patrick T. Conley, Robert G. Flanders, Jr.

From: Oxford Constitutions (http://oxcon.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2022. All Rights Reserved.date: 24 May 2022

The powers of the government shall be distributed into three separate and distinct departments: the legislative, executive and judicial. Article III of the 1843 constitution provided for the distribution of governmental powers into three departments. It simply read, “The powers of government shall be distributed into three departments: the Legislative, Executive, and Judicial.” R.I. Const. of 1843, Art. III. The Rhode Island Constitutional Convention of 1986 renumbered this provision as Article V, but otherwise left its wording unchanged. At all times, the title...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.