Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

Part Two The Colorado Constitution and Commentary, Art.XIV Counties

Dale A. Oesterle, Richard B. Collins

From: The Colorado State Constitution

Richard B. Collins, Dale A. Oesterle

From: Oxford Constitutions (http://oxcon.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved.date: 07 May 2021

The several counties of the territory of Colorado as they now exist, are hereby declared to be counties of the state. An 1861 act of the territorial legislature divided Colorado into 17 counties.1315 By statehood these had become 26, which Section 1 declared to be counties of the state.1316 By 1913, the general assembly had sectioned them into the current 63.1317 Constitutional amendments established two city and county governments outside county boundaries: Denver in 1902 and Broomfield in 2001.1318 On occasion, mineral discoveries generated county boundary...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.