Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

Part Two The Louisiana Constitution and Commentary, Art.XII General Provisions

From: The Louisiana State Constitution

W. Lee Hargrave

From: Oxford Constitutions (http://oxcon.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved.date: 07 May 2021

The capital of Louisiana is the city of Baton Rouge. In the nineteenth century, the seat of government moved back and forth between New Orleans and Baton Rouge, but Baton Rouge has been designated the capital city since the adoption of the 1879 Constitution (Art. 150). The 1921 Constitution so provided in Article XIX, section 2, but Article VII, section 14 also directed the supreme court to sit in New Orleans. Although the 1974 Constitution no longer directs the court to sit in New Orleans, the Judiciary Committee action in deleting the old provision was for the...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.