Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

Part Two The Hawaii Constitution and Commentary, Art.VIII Local Government

Anne Feder Lee

From: The Hawaii State Constitution

Anne Lee Feder

From: Oxford Constitutions (http://oxcon.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved.date: 22 September 2021

In contrast to other states, with their layers of political subdivisions, Hawaii has the simplest of political systems. The only local governments are one combined city/county unit and three counties: The city and county of Honolulu and the counties of Hawaii, Kauai, and Maui. (A fifth area called a county, Kalawao, encompasses Kalaupapa Settlement on the island of Molokai. It does not have its own government and falls under the jurisdiction of the state department of health as its primary purpose is the care and treatment of people with Hansen’s disease). During...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.