Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

Part Two The Texas Constitution and Commentary, Art.IV Executive Department

From: The Texas State Constitution

Janice C. May

From: Oxford Constitutions (http://oxcon.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved.date: 18 May 2021

The Executive Department of the State shall consist of a Governor, who shall be the Chief Executive Officer of the State, a Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of State, Comptroller of Public Accounts, Treasurer, Commissioner of the General Land Office, and Attorney General. The relatively weak constitutional position of the governor is indicated by Sections 1 and 2, which establish a plural executive. Section 1 lists seven executive officers that collectively consist of the executive department. Section 2 requires the election of all but one of them. Historically, the...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.