Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

Part Two The South Dakota Constitution and Commentary, Art.II Division of the Powers of Government

From: The South Dakota State Constitution

Patrick M. Garry

From: Oxford Constitutions (http://oxcon.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved.date: 25 July 2021

The powers of the government of the state are divided into three distinct departments, the legislative, executive and judicial; and the powers and duties of each are prescribed by this Constitution. The doctrine of separation of powers is fundamental to the American scheme of government, and is incorporated in the federal constitution.1 This fundamental and longstanding doctrine of American and western legal jurisprudence is contained in Article II of the South Dakota Constitution. As the South Dakota Supreme Court has stated, this separation of powers article...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.