Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

The Autonomous Community of of Murcia: Introductory Note

Philip Raworth
Edited By: Philip Raworth

© 2005 Oxford University Press

From: Oxford Constitutions (http://oxcon.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2015. All Rights Reserved.date: 18 September 2019

It was the Carthaginians who first subdued the native Iberians and established Murcia as a colony. The most famous city of the Region of Murcia, Cartagena, was founded in 230 BC by the Carthaginian general, Hasdrubal, who named it New Carthage. Murcia was taken by the Romans in the Second Punic War (218-201) with Scipio Africanus Major entering New Carthage in 209 BC. The next conquerors were the Visigoths, who erupted into Spain at the beginning of the fifth century and by 500 AD controlled most of the Iberian Peninsula, including Murcia. Their rule lasted for a...
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.