Jump to Content Jump to Main Navigation

The Canton of Vaud: Introductory Note

Philip Raworth
Edited By: Philip Raworth

© 2015 Oxford University Press

From: Oxford Constitutions (http://oxcon.ouplaw.com). (c) Oxford University Press, 2015. All Rights Reserved.date: 26 May 2019

The Canton of Vaud ( Waadt in German) is one of the twenty-six cantons of Switzerland. It is situated in the west of Switzerland and is bordered on the north by the Canton of Neuchâtel, on the east by the Cantons of Fribourg and Bern, on the south by the Cantons of Geneva and Valais and Lake Geneva and on the west by France. The Canton also includes an enclave within the Canton of Fribourg. It is the fourth largest canton with a surface area of 3,218 square kilometers (1,243 square miles) and the third most populous with, as of December, 2013, 749,373 inhabitants....
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.